Compressing a Truevision Targa (.TGA) file.

Discussion in 'The Graphics Zone' started by Demonfaze, Oct 21, 2006.

1. Demonfaze

Demonfaze 8 yrs. Hell, it's been a long time.

How do you compress a .tga file?

I download a few programs off of google claiming to compress images, but they simply compressed images in the .jpg format, which is not what I need. If I use a program such as paint shop pro to "Save As.." an image into the .tga file, it increases in file-size massively. (about 13kb to 170kb)

Thanks for the help.
  2. monoVertex

monoVertex I'm back!

I am not sure, but I don't think TGA can be compressed... but I am no expert, so don't trust this too much xD
  3. Demonfaze

My friend compressed images for me perfectly, so I know it is possible. But I feel I need to learn how to do it on my own, since I've asked him to compress images so many times =/

Basically I can start with any format (probably .JPG or .BMP) and I need to make a TGA file that is somewhat small in size.

-----

What I'm actually trying to do is make a mini-map preview for a warcraft 3 map that doesn't take up too much space. The JPG file is only 13kb; I want the TGA file to be as small as possible without losing much quality: preferrably less than 60kb in size. However, when I try to save it as a TGA, the filesize jumps up to about 180kb.
  4. The Helper

The Helper Administrator Staff Member

TGA has the option to save in RLE (Run Length Encoding) which will reduce the file size. source http://www.ftgimp.com/help/C/filters/tga.html

Do you use the gimp?

http://www.gimp.org/

you can save rle tga in that program, you might need a plug in but you can get those by searching google - that should allow you to get smaller files.
  5. Demonfaze

I just finished downloading the Gimp.

I tried saving, putting a check on RLE compression, but it is still about 166kb.
  6. Husky

Husky Local Lurker

Have you tried reducing the quality? Or dont you want that?
  7. Demonfaze