Dice Roll

Phil

Reaction score
Hey, I'm trying to create a dice roll that will "unlock" a door. Essentially they will be walking up to a door and then type -rollunlock and if the random roll is high enough they will be able to enter. I have setup a region infront of the door and have tried to experiment with it but that random number seems to be stumping me.

I've created a variable called DiceRoll which has "Set DiceRoll = (Random integer number between 1 and 8)" typed into the Initial Value. I have it connected to a floating text action so I might see the random number it creates before going forward with attaching it to the door. Currently all I get is exactly what I've typed in as the initial value.

This is a major thing that is stopping me from creating my map, especialy as I will be making dice rolls a major part of my map. I am a COMPLETE noob in this subject, in fact I have just jumped on and i do not have much knowledge in this. Suggestions as to where to go for tutorials and knowledge about this subject, and others, would also be helpful.

futeki

Reaction score
Hi there and welcome!

Firstly, on map making be sure you spend time learning good practices, starting with memory leaks. You can find info about them and how to handle them here.

Lastly, on your issue, I'd suggest you post your trigger here. You can do so by right-clicking the title of your trigger in the Trigger Editor, and clicking "Copy As Text" and then pasting it here inside of a reply within the "WC3 GUI Tags" -- the icon looks like a giant "a". Without seeing your triggers, most will be unable to help.

Phil

Reaction score
Trigger

Thank you for the help as well as the welcome futeki!

Here is my trigger.

Trigger:
  • RollurDie
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing -rollunlock as An exact match
    • Conditions
    • Actions