DII- LOD "Error decompressing Sprite"

B

Buck(Ale)

This problem has been extremely troublesome and frustrating for me. I've sent several (unanswered) e-mails to blizzard, in addition to posting on the Support forum. Getting online support is just an impossible joke (I've sat in channel waiting for hours with no help at all). Posting this here on The Helpers Suggestion in the hopes that someone might have insight as to what my problem is, cos i've tried everything I can think of, and i'm at my wits end.

Hardware:
PIII 1Ghz/133 (@ default)
512MB Crucial PC2100 (2X256MB)
Voodoo 4 4500 PCI (play DII on this in Glide mode)
Geforce2 GTS 32MB AGP
Sound Blaster Live!
Running Win2K Pro SP2
Anyway, for those that aren't familar with my name, i'm formerly of firingsquad.gamers.com fame, and i'm a sometimes writer for viahardware.com I'm a PC technician by trade, so suffice it to say, i'm an expert in PC hardware and the Windows family of O/S's. This error seems to be a program issue, which is outside of my field since i'm not a programmer.

""Halt
Location : C:\Projects\Diablo2\Source\D@CMP\SRC\Codec.cpp, Line #1627
Expression : Error decompressing sprite"

this error happens to me very often. Before writing to Blizz tech support, I followed all of their major troubleshooting recommendations. Which included: removing and reinstalling the game (using two different Disc sets, DIIC and LoD). Running Regclean, and manually cleaning the registry. In addition i've also tried running the game on both my display adapters. The problem occurs regardless of which display adapter i run the game on, and regardless of Driver version, but normally I have the latest drivers for both devices (and everything else for that matter) installed on the system. In the case of the V4, this means the 1.04 drivers, which were current at the time that DII was released.