Partition Magic Error #4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blackveiled

Formerly, Ban-Lord
Reaction score
(Note: I am new to this program, lol. I usually format with MS-DOS, but I wanted to do something a bit quicker)

Alright, basically, trying to format the partition (NTFS) of my external USB harddrive (WD 2500AAJ External USB Harddrive 250gb) with PartitionMagic, so I can give it support with the FAT32 filesystem also, along with the NTFS file system. But PartitionMagic looks at my external harddrive as a "BAD" drive:

partition1lx7.jpg

Also, whenever I try to create a new partition on the "BAD" drive, it tells me I cannot. Also, when I right click the "BAD" drive (my USB Harddrive), it gives me the only option to "Format".

partition2xk1.jpg

Now, heres where I get to the problem. Everything goes alright until I get to the part where I am actually formatting the drive, when my computer boots up and loads Windows XP, then PartitionMagic, I get this error, called Error #4,

Code:
Error 4 while executing BatchError 4
Bad argument / parameter

Does anybody have an idea what the problem could be?

Operating System: Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
Is it a pretty recent model of a Seagate external disk?

If so, the answer is: you can't (easily) put anything beside NTFS on it.

EDIT: hmmm, no. WD looks more like Western Digital.
Did you already try to throw away the partition and re-create it? Did you make sure that no applications have files of that disk in use?

Blackveiled

Formerly, Ban-Lord
Reaction score
EDIT: hmmm, no. WD looks more like Western Digital.
Did you already try to throw away the partition and re-create it? Did you make sure that no applications have files of that disk in use?