Building a gaming PC

Flare

Stops copies me!
Reaction score
I'm currently looking into building a gaming PC (and I'm not very good with these things, so please bear with me :p) - at present, exact budget isn't known, but I'm aiming for somewhere in the €1000 - €1200 region, but I'm at a loss as to what exactly I need

Currently, the parts I'm looking at right now are

So, what I need to know is:
  • Are any of these parts incompatible with each other, at a glance? Is there some way that I can check? One in particular that I'd like to know is if the screwholes on the case will align with any motherboard (you have to screw the motherboard onto the case, right?)
  • Are there any parts there which would be in need of an upgrade? I'm not looking for something mind-blowing, but I really don't want to spend money on something which may hold everything back for one reason or another
  • Are there any other vital parts that I need to add to my list? :p

Also, I must find out some information on cooling - will I need to buy cooling fans separately, or are they part-and-parcel of the GFX card, CPU and case?

Samael88

Evil always finds a way
Reaction score
The motherboard support both the ram, and the graphics card and the processor have the same socket. The UPS does also seem to be good.
Things to keep in mind though:
That graphics card seem to require two extra power cables connected to it and a minimum UPS of 500watts minimum is recommended.

So as far as that goes you seem to be good:) I can't help you on the rest though.

Edit: btw, that Graphics card makes me drewl:eek: DDR5 RAM on it ;)

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
I would not get that RAM. I don't know if it will work, though I suspect it would. The problem here is that it is not triple-channel. X58 and the i7 9xx series support triple channel memory. So what I would do (and what I did, actually) is get a 6GB kit (2GBx3) so that you have triple channel.

Tru_Power22