Buying an External HDD - Any Tips Welcomed!

Andrewgosu

The Silent Pandaren Helper
Reaction score
Hello,

Like the title says, I'm going to buy myself an external HDD and because it's my first time doing so, I might as well ask some tips. I'm planning to use it in conjunction with my laptop; price range 100...150$; I haven't decided on whether to get a "tower" or a more portable (with no extra power-feed) one; basically I want something more reliable even if it's not as big in size as other less reliable counterparts (e.g. 750GB more reliable beats 1.5TB less reliable).

Of course, any general tips are also welcomed (2.5'' vs 3.5'', I have no idea).

Andrewgosu

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
If your laptop has an eSATA port I would recommend getting just a hard drive. Tis what I'm doing (except min is in a case that isn't really an "external" case o_o It's the caging from inside my friend's computer case which happens to be identical to mine :D).

It works pretty well and you can cool it with USB powered fans :D

I did this and it's a pretty sick setup.

If you don't have eSATA, you could just get any old HDD and get your own case.

If you've got cash to spend, I would recommend at least a 10000 RPM HDD and, if you can find one, a 3.0 USB enclosure. I'm not sure if 3.0 enclosures are out there yet though.

Otherwise, generally any external HDD works fine, but the thing you would want is the fastest transfer rate or you'll be waiting ages copying files back and forth.

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
Cool!

I'm not really sure if that's a good price as USB 3.0 is new, however it seems reasonable for an external hard drive with a casing already and USB 3.0.

Andrewgosu

Reaction score
What do you mean by "good price"?

I'm not buying that from ebay but from a local store -- it's a bit more expensive there, though.

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
Good price as in are you getting a good deal for it :p

I.E. Are you getting overcharged or not.