C++ Where to start. what to do?

ElderKingpin

Post in the anime section, or die.
Reaction score
So.. im getting into C++ (yayz) and i need to know a few things first...

1. What program do i use to MAKE the code.
2. What program do i use to RUN the code (as in make it come to life)
3. What program do i use after i completed my work i can play the "game"
4. When i asked my dad about it. He didnt seem to mind that i was a newbie, he didnt even point out anything he just started into it.
5. He uses NetLinx (which he said you require a certificate to use) does that use C++?

Slapshot136

Divide et impera
Reaction score
1. there are plenty out there, I prefer visual studio

2. c++ creates .exe files, which can be run in windows, although you would usually also create an "installer" that copies over the files to an install directory (like under program files) an puts a shortcut on the desktop. also for testing purposes most programs that you write the code in can also run it, and these also usually have debugging features to help you analyze what it is doing while it is running.

3. your pick of windows - xp, vista, 7, etc. (i think older ones would work as well)

codemonkey

Code monkey not crazy, just proud.
Reaction score
>2 - c++ creates .exe files

Wrong. This only applies for windows

Visual Studio only works for windows and only works if you have the .NET framework.

ElderKingpin

Reaction score
the question for number 4 was. Is C++ something hard to pick up?

+

What am i supposed to do when i finished making my project, and i want to give it to someone. Do i have to put a special program with the project to run the project? or does windows run it on its own

codemonkey

Reaction score
C++ is extremely hard to pick up if it's your first real language, imo.

I recommend Python over C++.

For example if you wanted a hello world program in C++:

Code:
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;
void main()
{
  cout << "Hello World!" << endl;
}

or in Python:

Code: