can anyone help me figure out how to use dll in c++ using visual studio?

Nestharus

o-o
Reaction score
84
I'm trying to specifically use StormLib.


I figure I need StormLib.lib, StormLib.dll, StormLib.h, and StormPort.h.


http://www.zezula.net/en/mpq/download.html#StormLib


If anyone can help me figure out how to use it in the project, that'd be awesome ;D.


Tx.


edit
What I have done:
Specified lib in Linker
Included 2 required header files, lib, and dll in the main project
Included location of header files outside of the project
Edited StormLib.h to use StormLib.lib instead of 4 other libs that weren't included with StormLib (wth?)

Compiled, ran smoothly ^^

Added a call to a function in the dll

Boom, error: missing StormLib.dll


And at this point, I don't know what else to do
 

camelCase

The Case of the Mysterious Camel.
Reaction score
362
Do you have the .dll file in your main project folder? o.0
 

camelCase

The Case of the Mysterious Camel.
Reaction score
362
I would check the folders themselves because I always have a copy of the .dll files that I need inside my main project folder.
It probably isn't the right way to do it but it's what works flawlessly for me without hiccups.

Some_Proj/Some_Proj/Some_DLL.dll <-- I have something like that

I literally just copy and paste the .dll files I need into the project folder =x
 

Slapshot136

Divide et impera
Reaction score
471
I think camelCase is right, you probably need to do this - when you "include" it, it tells VS to go look for it and add it - but VS has some folders that it searches in and it only looks there (you can change/see those folders in the settings somewhere, but those are confusing/complicated) - but if it doesn't find it it can't add it
 

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
413
If it can't find it then it should throw an error on compile/include :|

Either way, the other 4 libs were found on the internet by Nestharus and we've (I've) changed the edited code back to original. However, this is still giving us the error.
 

s3rius

Linux is only free if your time is worthless.
Reaction score
130
For static linking you must link to the .lib files and have the .dll files at the ready.
When it gives you the "dll-not-found" error you generally linked to it correctly.
You can put the .dll files either into the Sys32 folder of your Windows (which I don't recommend) or into the same folder where your program's .exe is.
 

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
413
Then, I take it that VS2010 doesn't automagically put the .dll into the correct folder? :|

Oh, well. If this fixes it you are a god. Unfortunately I can't test because I'm at classes with only my laptop.
 

camelCase

The Case of the Mysterious Camel.
Reaction score
362
But if you're running from VS2010, the program looks for the .dll files inside your main project folder.
Running from outside VS2010 (AKA double-clicking your executable from outside the IDE) will make your program look for the .dll files inside its own folder.

Within VS2010:
Some_Proj/Some_Proj/Some_DLL.dll

Outside VS2010:
Where_My_Built_Executable_Is/My_Executable.exe
Where_My_Built_Executable_Is/Some_DLL.dll

Anyone knows "why" this happens? o.0
 

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
413
That's really strange :| VS2010 should automatically add the .dll to the project folder when adding to the project and put it in the output folder when building.
 

s3rius

Linux is only free if your time is worthless.
Reaction score
130
Anyone knows "why" this happens? o.0

Looking for the dll in the same folder as the .exe is the normal behavior. VS just adds the project folder as another search path for the dll files. It just helps organization.
"Tools > Options > Projects and Solutions > VC++ Directories" shows you all your project directories.
But putting them into the .exe folder still works. And I'd always do that for compiled projects. It's the best option, since other - more general - directories like the Sy32 one hold a ton of dlls and might hold a different version of the same dll inside.


That's really strange :| VS2010 should automatically add the .dll to the project folder when adding to the project and put it in the output folder when building.

No it doesn't.
At least it never did for me.
 

Sevion

The DIY Ninja
Reaction score
413
I didn't say it does, I said it SHOULD do that. As in that functionality really should be implemented if it hasn't already.
 

s3rius

Linux is only free if your time is worthless.
Reaction score
130
Ok, I thought it was a "should" as in "it usually does that, so it should happen for you too" :p

Well, but - the dll could be in different folders. For linking you only need to link to the .lib I think (I don't remember 100% lol) so VS doesn't exactly know where the dll is.
 

Lyerae

I keep popping up on this site from time to time.
Reaction score
105
Or thirty second to write the makefile, and five seconds to write a .bat file (if need be).
 

camelCase

The Case of the Mysterious Camel.
Reaction score
362
Assembler ftw?
9000minutes for a window with "Hello, world!" written on it.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.

      The Helper Discord

      Members online

      Affiliates

      Hive Workshop NUON Dome World Editor Tutorials

      Network Sponsors

      Apex Steel Pipe - Buys and sells Steel Pipe.
      Top