Comparing text?

Exide

I am amazingly focused right now!
Reaction score
Hi.

I started playing around with the SC2 editor. It was a long time since I last used either it or the WC3 editor, so my skills are very rusty.
To the point:

I want to make a custom function that:
*Takes a random global text variable
*Works it's magic (loops it around a bit)
*Returns an Integer Value

Here's what I did so far:
Trigger:
  • InventoryItemCheckValue
    • Options: Function
    • Return Type: Integer
    • Parameters
      • CheckItem = No Text <Text>
    • Grammar Text: InventoryItemCheckValue(CheckItem)
    • Hint Text: (None)
    • Custom Script Code
    • Local Variables
      • checkname = CheckItem <Text>
      • loop = 0 <Integer>
    • Actions
      • General - If (Conditions) then do (Actions) else do (Actions)
        • If
        • Then
        • Else
      • General - Return loop

I know this does nothing so far, I haven't even begun yet.
To the problem:

The problem lies within the If/Then/Else. I want to add a compiration that compares text. To be more exact, I want to compare the parameter "CheckItem" (alternatively the local variable "checkname") with a certain text. For example: If CheckItem == "Test" Then.. *actions*

The problem is that I can't find a way to compare texts. Nothing shows up under the "Parameters" tab, and "checkname" doesn't even show up under the "Variables" tab. (I created the local variable "checkname" as a test, to see if it would show up, which it didn't.)

Now I wonder how can I compare the Parameter with a certain text?
I managed to compare text in another compiration.. It just isn't working in my Function. (I am guessing I'm doing something wrong, but I have no idea what.)

Help appriciated.

Siretu

Starcraft 2 Editor Moderator
Reaction score