Create Special Effect at position of unit in jass

Squishinator

Reaction score
I know this is probably a really dumb question, but i have no knowledge of jass whatsoever and cant find a straight answer when i search.

Flare

Stops copies me!
Reaction score
If you are using an 'instant' effect (i.e. it plays its effect and is removed immediately after, such as Thunderclap)
JASS:
call DestroyEffect (AddSpecialEffect (modelFile, GetUnitX (whichUnit), GetUnitY (whichUnit))
//or
call DestroyEffect (AddSpecialEffectTarget (modelFile, whichUnit, attachmentPoint))

If you want something that needs to last for a period of time, you would need to store the effect to a variable, wait (or use a timer, whichever you prefer) and destroy it later i.e.
JASS:
local effect sfx
set sfx = AddSpecialEffectTarget (modelFile, whichUnit, attachmentPoint)
//You -NEED- to use AddSpecialEffectTarget here, AddSpecialEffect isn't suitable, unlike above
call TriggerSleepAction (timeDelay)
call DestroyEffect (sfx)

Although, unless you have NewGen WE or use timers, the second example will delay the remaining execution of your function, so it's advisable that you do all your actions bar local destruction/nulling (they can be done either side of the wait, as long as they aren't in use) before the wait, unless you have other waits for some reason

Squishinator

Reaction score
even this is kind of confusing to me. What i want to do is create special effect at position of sfxUnit and wont loop

Flare

Stops copies me!
Reaction score
even this is kind of confusing to me. What i want to do is create special effect at position of sfxUnit and wont loop
Telling us what particular SFX(s) you want to use would be useful. If it's something like Fan of Knives, Warstomp, Thunderclap, Frost Nova's 'burst' effect and all those one-shot effects, you need
JASS:
call DestroyEffect (AddSpecialEffect (modelFile, GetUnitX (whichUnit), GetUnitY (whichUnit))
//or