Defense Defend the Keep

Metaldrummer

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a major map project. I've made a maze, but it was easy to make and I never really hosted it on Battle.net. Anyway, here goes.

I've always wanted to make a Defense map, but as I thought about it, I wanted it to have more strategy than buying the right items, leveling a hero, and killing things. Upon thinking, planning, and doodling in Paint, I came up with the following.

Map Info
Name: Defend the Keep!
Type: Defense, Offense
Player: 8 players total: 6 defenders and 2 attackers
Description: Simply put, the defenders must defend the King and his followers by vanquishing the attacking forces, and the invaders must kill the King.
Detailed Concept:The players on the Defense team must choose a certain role in the defense, such as Engineer, Archer, Knight, etc. I wanted to make this different than most defenses, so instead of controlling a hero, you control a small number of units related to your role. The attackers, will get to choose an invading nation, each with their own special, unique features. They must break through the defense and murder the king of the keep.

Project Completion: 25%
Terrain/Doodads: 70%
Units/Abilities: 5%
Triggers: 15%
Extras: 10%

Team Jobs
What I Am Looking For:
1. I will need someone who is experienced with triggers to optimize the triggers to reduce lag and get rid of leaks.
2. I wanted to use a custom-made loading screen, so I need someone to make one about defending a keep. Once I get around to it, I will load some sketches into the screenshot section of this post of what I am looking for.

Recent Updates
1/07/09: Main planning phase nearly completed. Main map development starts within the week.
1/03/09: Triggering started, and taverns placed and edited.
1/02/09: Map layout complete. Few doodads placed. Detailed planning begins.

Defender Roles
Engineer Team
A team of engineers that build, repair, and fortify the keep's defenses.