Discussion: Effectiveness of Blizzard's modular approach to objects

krainert

Reaction score
Greetings,

I've played around with the Data Editor a bit and followed a few tutorials, and although I love the improved depth and more logical structuring, the separation of units and weapons as well as projectiles and actual effects caused by attacks seems a bit excessive to me. I'm still learning, and it's still a beta, obviously, but what's your take on it - when mastered, is it more or less efficient (not powerful!) than the all-in-one approach of W3? In what ways? Why?

Advice D.

Reaction score
I think that WC3's system just can't compare to the flexibility of SC2's system. As for efficiency and simplicity, consider an ability in the style of war stomp that halves the mana/energy of all surrounding enemies, and applies a slow and negative armour debuff(s) that can stack with itself three times.

In WC3, you'd probably make a dummy ability cloned from Thunderclap/Fan of Knives/Channel, then trigger the rest, including the use of dummy units to cast the debuffs, checking in the trigger for any instances of the buffs already on the unit and using higher level ones to simulate stacking.

In SC2, you make an Instant Ability, a button to go with it, a Buff type behaviour, a Search Area effect, a Set effect, a Modify Unit effect and an Apply Behaviour effect. You link the Ability to the Search Area, set the target types etc. in the Search, link the Set to the Search, link the Apply Behaviour and Modify Unit to the set and finally link the Buff to the Apply Behaviour.
From there you put in a movespeed multiplier and a negative lifearmour bonus in the Buff, and set the Maximum Stack Counts to three, then set add a -0.5 Change Fraction to the Energy in the Vitals section of the Modify Unit effect.