Linux versus Windows for programming

Bloodcount

Starcraft II Moderator
Reaction score
I have read a lot on the subject on the internet. 90% of the things I've read seem like utter bullshit, so I am asking the good people from the helper, what are the advantages for programming under windows and under linux ?

ty <3

rover2341

Is riding a roller coaster...Wee!
Reaction score
Note: Keep in mind, I am only a student developer, and have done little in Linux, So I may have a biased opinion, but ill try to be open minded.

Both
Stable OS - From my experience (since windows 7).
Fast - with in 10 seconds I can boot my computer, get to my desktop, and load Visual studios. (Windows), I figure linex can do the same, maybe faster but not gona be much of a factor for me.

Not a mac. (LOL, I had to add that)

Programming Advantage for Linux:
Open OS, so if your have a real reason to mess with it you can.
Lots of free Software to program, and some huge development kits.

Free OS! Lighter OS.

Programming Advantage for Windows:
OS Cost Money. assuming you built your own computer, else its nommaly bundled with most computers you buy today.

Lots of free software, and lots of huge development kits, like visual studio pro. for a cost.
OS since windows 7+, has been pretty dang stable.

Your working in a Environment , that more people use, so assuming your programming for windows, its a perfect place to test your programs.

Direct-X, another option you can use when programming (that naively runs on windows).

In General Much better support for hardware, as hardware makers want to be sure that the majority of people who get there hardware can use it. (thus, make sure it works on windows first)

Last Note
For me programming is about getting the job done, as a solo developer that means I am going to be using a higher end language like c# or java, and for circuital functions using c++, or unsafe c# code. Only if it makes that much of a factor in the program I am working on.

Slapshot136