Make a Building Auto-Spawn Units

Kyuft

Reaction score
Hey, I am pretty new to triggers and I need help with a map that has a "king of the hill"ish theme. I want a certain building to spawn a colossus every 40 seconds (for the owner) ONLY if it is owned by someone. I already have the "capturing" of the buildings done, I just need it to spawn units at a certain interval only if it is owner by a player.
-Kyuft

Jokker

Reaction score
This can be done in several ways. You can make the building actually train these units. This means, you change the build tie of colossus to 40 seconds. Change resource costs to Zero. Then make a trigger, that triggers every 40 game seconds. Orders this building to train a colossus IF it is not controlled by neutral (checks if it is captured). This will automatically make the colossus for the owning player, because the training building is owned by that player. You would be able to see the building process also.

The second way is just to make a trigger, that creates a unit at the building location every 40 seconds for the owning player of the building.
Something like Periodic event - every 40 seconds.
Create a Unit (colossus) at target location (you can add a region or point here, or the location of the building) for the player ( owner of unit(building))

I'm certain that there are even more ways to do it : D

I would post pics about the triggers, but I am not at home right now. So if you still have problems later, I'll gladly help.

Hope this helps,
Cheers!

Jokker

Reaction score
Trigger:
  • test
    • Events
      • Timer - Every 40.0 seconds of Game Time
    • Local Variables
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • General - If (Conditions) then do (Actions) else do (Actions)
        • If
          • (Owner of Barracks [93.50, 45.50]) == 0
        • Then
        • Else
          • Unit - Order Barracks [93.50, 45.50] to (Barracks - Train Marine) (Replace Existing Orders)