Matrix Rotation not working the way I want it to

D.V.D

Make a wish
Reaction score
So I'm trying to rotate a box/rectangle around a point so that the boxes rotation constantly changes but it's location stays the same. I have my values in the rotation matrix based of a few links but when I draw the rectangle/box, it's position is changed more and more as the rotation angle increases/decreases.

rotation matrix = [ cos theta , -sin theta
sin theta , cos theta ]

Here's the output I get in my window ( I drew all of the different rotations to see their positions clearly, and the bottom is erased in paint, not in the program ):
OutputIhor.png

Note: I use a lot of constants in my code and normal arrays instead of dynamic arrays like I probably should for matrices. Also, this is my first time ever using them :p

Code:
class position {
public:
    float x,y;
};

void matrix_test (HDC hdc) {
    // set initial position
    int init_x = 700;
    int init_y = 700;

// set matrices dimensions
    const int mat_x = 5;
    const int mat_y = 20;

// load matrices
    float rotation [2][2];
    position pos [mat_x][mat_y];
    position display [mat_x][mat_y];

// load colors
    COLORREF draw_col = RGB(0,0,0);
    COLORREF delete_col = RGB(255,255,255);

// set the position of the box
    for ( int i=0; i < mat_x; i++ ) {
        for ( int j=0; j < mat_y; j++ ) {
            pos[i][j].x=init_x+i;
            pos[i][j].y=init_y+j;
        }
    }
            SetPixel(hdc,pos[i][j].x,pos[i][j].y,draw_col);
        }
    }
    //Sleep(1000);

// copy pos matrix to display matrix
            display[i][j] = pos[i][j];
        }
    }

// rotate
    for (float time=0; time < 1000; time+=2) {
        // delete previous matrix from HDC
        /*for ( int i=0; i < mat_x; i++ ) {
                SetPixel(hdc,display[i][j].x,display[i][j].y,delete_col);
            }
        }*/
        // set the rotation matrix
        rotation[0][0] = cos(time);
        rotation[0][1] = (-1)*sin(time);