[Project] SC: Leaders

unju

Reaction score
Introduction

I am maybe a month away from having a playable prototype of the project I have been nurturing since 6-7 years ago. The project is important because there is a lack of similar custom maps: a competitive and dynamic small-scale RTS where the players fight for control of neutral buildings and in which individual units go up in ranks.

Main features

A- Neutral buildings. I am trying to go well and beyond what other games based on control points have done:
1) There will be 6 types of neutral buildings, each one offering different bonuses.
2) There will be different ways for players to interact with them, each one with different advantages and drawbacks. You can interact with neutral buildings by:
- Converting them by channeling an ability with leader units (which are more support-oriented than the WC3 heroes).
- Capturing them instantly with Engineers, which die in the process.
- Infecting them with Infestors, which makes the enemy unable to interact with the buildings for 45 seconds, but the buildings turns neutral and the Infestor dies once the effect ends.
- Unclaim them by exploding Banelings nearby, meaning that an enemy neutral building becomes neutral and noone controls it.
3) They can be upgraded, but the upgrade stays if the enemy claims it.
4) Different types of add-ons can be built near them -only one per building-, which has to be destroyed for the enemy to be able to interact with the building.

B- Standard units (here called warriors) can go up in ranks. This is in effect a dynamic way to upgrade individual units.
1) Lower-tier warriors require less experience than high-tier ones to go up in rank in order to enable strategies with high-rank, low-tier warriors.