Questions regarding Warcraft III and RPG maps.

Draugr

Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am new to Warcraft III as I stumbled upon a site with WC3 RPG maps. I did play Warcraft 3 many years ago when the original version first came out, but I never played it for a long period of time and it was quickly forgotten. Anyhow, after seeing that the game can be edited with the World Editor and turned somewhat into a RPG game I became very curious. I ran out after work and picked up the Battlechest edition of Warcraft III and can't wait to give it a whirl.

Because I was busy this evening I didn't even get to install the game, but will do so tomorrow night. In the mean time I was hoping some of you might be able to answer some questions I have on the RPG element of the game. I did search for quite some time specifically for information on exactly how RPG mode works and its features but I couldn't find any specific info on it.

Well, here are my questions. :)

1. Is it possible to have a multiplayer RPG world with multiple maps that would allow players who login to go about their business and move between maps separate from other players, or is the game locked into a single map? What I'm hoping is possible is something like this. A starter town or hub where the players spawn into. They can do the usual things in town and when ready they can leave town and enter one of multiple dungeons scattered about just outside the town perimeter. Each dungeon would be a separate map and thus if player A went to dungeon 1, would other players be able to go to dungeon 2, or 3 at the same time or is the game similar to Warcraft II where you could only play on a single map at a time?

2. When playing on one map and finishing, does a players hero retain any experience and loot so that they can continue on another RPG map?