Slight Laptop Increase FPS

MasterOfABCs

Unacceptable!
Reaction score
Hey, I'm hoping i can get the real story here.

I'm looking to increase the FPS of my stock Presario CQ50 by around 5-15 for the following games; Team Fortress 2, CS:S, Left 4 Dead, Left 4 dead 2.

I've read thus far that two things should work. However, i am skeptical.

1. Overclocking, I'm fairly certain this will work, but I've never done this before and don't want to pwn my laptop. If it's reasonably safe, however, I'm willing to take the risk.

If you believe this option will work, please give me some input on how to go about this or were to find a accurate guide.

Chipset : nVidia GeForce 8200m

2. Getting Vista 64bit, i haven't looked into this much yet. I read it on some forum off in the deep dark corners of the interwebz. Will this work? Is it a download or do i have to buy a new copy of vista?

Thanks for and replies i get! :thup:

UndeadDragon

Super Moderator
Reaction score
If your RAM is not >4GB, then getting Vista 64 bit will make no difference.

Slapshot136

Divide et impera
Reaction score
then upgrading to 64bit will give you about .8 gb of more ram, which would help

also as far as OCing, especially with laptops, there are limitations, mainly heat, so always take it slowly, a small increase at a time, and then stress test to make sure it's stable (memtest and prime95) as well as looking at the temps

also, before doing the above, try setting the priority of the game you want to high (using task manager) and closing background programs (explorer.exe and then re-run it once your done gaming can make a significant difference to name an example)

sqrage

Mega Super Ultra Cool Member
Reaction score
Update your drivers.

With a laptop I wouldn't overclock because you don't have the ability to add cooling if needed (most likely needed).

MasterOfABCs

Unacceptable!
Reaction score