Smith_S9 (monoVertex) - A History

monoVertex

I'm back!
Reaction score
Hello all!

I am monoVertex, formerly known around here as Smith_S9 and I have been a member of this forum since May 2006 (actually earlier than that, but I'll get to that in a moment). That's more than 7 years, which is a lot of time and a lot has happened during this time. My name in real life is Cosmin Stamate and I am currently a student and a Web & Software developer.

Warning, wall of text ahead. Make sure you have time for it :).

Beginnings

It all started when I first got my computer and Internet access, at the beginning of the 8th grade of school. I was around 14 years old. I was definitely interested in video games, and had little idea about how big the Internet was.

Before getting a computer, I played Warcraft III in Internet Cafes with my friends, so, naturally, Warcraft III was one of the first games I installed on my brand new computer. And it didn't take long before I started growing bored with the campaign and discovered it has a Game Editor.

I was no stranger to the Editor style the Blizzard games had. I had previously played with the SC Star Editor, as well as with the Warcraft II Editor, either on friends' computers or at Internet Cafes. I also had a natural ability to find out how stuff works, so I delved into it with eagerness and just started doing stuff.

It wasn't long until I wanted to build a personal project, an EPIC map! (how young and foolish I was :D). I wanted to to a Diablo II map, and I had many (limited) ideas. However, one thing I really wanted to do was to build my own 3D models, because I had found the TH Tutorials website while searching for something else about the Editor and discovered they had a lot of 3D modeling tutorials to use in the World Editor.

I started following a tutorial, but creating new models for W3 has always been problematic, so my model obviously didn't work in Warcraft. So I had to find some help!

First contact