StarCraft 2 N00B!

TheGosuBox

Reaction score
Hello! I am a noob at StarCraft. I've just recently finished installing the first one and it's expansion (Brood War) yesterday and I've never played a game my entire life. The very first Blizzard game I've played was WarCraft 3 TFT.

The main reason why I'm so interested in getting StarCraft 2 (already have the Beta version) is its World Editor.

Having been a map maker for WarCraft 3 TFT for a really long time, I am VERY excited and GREATLY impressed about the new tool which is the SC2 WE!

Now I'm wondering... how hard is it to learn StarCraft 2? And are there gonna' be similarities with the 2 World Editors (WC3 TFT & SC2 WOL), or are they gonna' look/work completely different from each other?

Lyerae

I keep popping up on this site from time to time.
Reaction score
No one really knows anything about the editor at the moment.
The majority of our knowledge is in Galaxy, I believe, and we don't really know too much about that.

Renendaru

(Evol)ution is nothing without love.
Reaction score
I've seen some screenshots of it, and the regions look really complex and confusing for just their single-player missions. o.o

TheGosuBox

Reaction score
Haha I guess we'll all be learning together?

Damn, I heard a rumor that said we'll have to pay to download user-maps. WTF?! It this true? o.o

Renendaru

(Evol)ution is nothing without love.
Reaction score
Damn, I heard a rumor that said we'll have to pay to download user-maps. WTF?! It this true? o.o

Well, some maps yes. Some people can opt for a 'Premium Map' option for their published map, so you have to pay a fee, like a micro transaction. Probably like 1$ or something. But, most maps will be free.

Lyerae

I keep popping up on this site from time to time.
Reaction score
I read somewhere that games like DotA (very popular) wouldn't meet the requirements for premium maps.

Daskunk

SC2 Forum MVP - TheSkunk #386
Reaction score