The Barstool Helper

Discussion in 'Small Business Helper' started by tsbhelper, Sep 10, 2004.

1. tsbhelper

tsbhelper Small Business Helper Forum Moderator

Ratings:
    +5 / 0 / -0
    This is a sales story... wish it had a happier ending. Back in 72 I was a classified ad salesman for a major metropolitan newspaper. There was a company called Barstools Unlimited that sold unfinished wooden furniture. They specialized in barstools.

They ran retail ads with the paper for a while but dropped out. Story I got was they had no results. Decided to try my luck selling them some space in either the new or used furniture section of the classified ads.

Went in and talked to the owner... long and short of it was he wanted nothing to do with newspaper advertising... it hadn't worked for him.

Back then I had this classic line "Advertising doesn't cost, it pays". When I ran it by him, he laughed at me and was getting ready to throw me out on my ear. Then I pulled my best trick out of the bag and used it on him.

It went something like this... tell you what, I'll make you a bet that advertising works... here's the deal. You run a little bitty three line ad in the classified section with me, for 10 days. In it you say you will give away one barstool each day to the tenth customer who comes into your store and mentions the ad. If you haven't had to give away ten barstools at the end of ten days, I'll pay for the ad myself, and any barstools you did have to give away... it won't cost you a dime.

He refused my offer and threw me out. I hadn't yet taken the Dale Carnegie Sales Course at that time, so I wasn't quite as smooth as I am now. End result was a lost sale, and I felt pretty bad about it.