the future of World Editor

Winterherz

Reaction score
will anyone still use WE by next or the coming years? the way i see is WE be just a practice zone before jumping to GE? To think there are still a lot of people asking for help and building project maps in the world editor section now that sc2's release is in 2 months from now , aren't you scared!:rolleyes:..

i guess im answering my own question: the real question is will anyone still play wc3?

punwisp

Reaction score
Practice zone? Thats like using starcraft 1s editor in practice for Wc3s editor.

You can be pro at Starcraft 1s editor, but youll be a complete noob when you hit Wc3s.

GE is a huge jump, theres so few similaries between the object editors in wc3 and GE xD

People will prob go back to WE because they dont want to put forth the effort into re-learning the editor, so they will stay in wc3 and prob try to put Sc2 into wc3.

NightShade

Ultra Cool Member
Reaction score
I was going to stay, then I realized that warcraft 3 is like 10 years old and nobody else was staying.

punwisp

Reaction score
The most you can practice with is the GUI and terraining, thats it. Object editor is completely different in GE then in WE. Theres no simplicity in GEs

Bribe

vJass errors are legion
Reaction score
Problems I've seen:

1. Lack of support for Galaxy language causes people to rely on annoying GUI-interfaces.

2. Little feeling of being proud of your scripting code, because it's all pre-supplied in the Data Editor. (why script it if you can do it with a few clicks?)

3. These things lead to less creative thinking about how to improvise with fewer options and how to manage memory leak & other oddities of WC3 scripting, deprecating skills you can actually apply towards job-environment programming. Boo. It's gonna be a spawning ground for noobs to stay noobs.

Bribe

vJass errors are legion
Reaction score