PHP not working / XAMPP installed

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
Hello there. I have downloaded XAMPP and installed it. I am using PSPAD (www.pspad.com/de) with making hyper transport text protocolls(Http pages) and I have problems with PHP. The html files work correctly, but when I am using PHP in my HTML files or when I craete PHP files it doesn't work anything. I am pro at making PHP and html etc. files so I don't know what I did wrong. Can't be a noob mistake. Please help!

Edit: At home it works, I have an router, on this PC I only have modem,
the test programm was "test.php" and when I write "<? echo "Test"; ?>" no error log comes up and nothing happens at all, simply that the text is shown as a html text on the side?!
 

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
240
Pro hmmm? :rolleyes:

Mind providing any further details, like a better problem description, error logs, scripts you're writing.
 

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
240
What's the output of:
PHP:
<?php phpinfo(); ?>

Are you sure your HTTP server is configured to process PHP pages?
 

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
Components
Status
Hints
MySQL-Database ACTIVATED
PHP ACTIVATED
HTTPS (SSL) ACTIVATED
Common Gateway Interface (CGI) ACTIVATED
Server Side Includes (SSI) ACTIVATED
SMTP Server DEACTIVATED
FTP Server DEACTIVATED

System Windows NT CARO-94T2DS1087 5.1 build 2600
Build Date Nov 8 2007 23:18:08
Configure Command cscript /nologo configure.js "--enable-snapshot-build" "--with-gd=shared"
Server API Apache 2.0 Handler
Virtual Directory Support enabled
Configuration File (php.ini) Path C:\WINDOWS
Loaded Configuration File C:\xampp\apache\bin\php.ini
PHP API 20041225
PHP Extension 20060613
Zend Extension 220060519
Debug Build no
Thread Safety enabled
Zend Memory Manager enabled
IPv6 Support enabled
Registered PHP Streams php, file, data, http, ftp, compress.zlib, zip
Registered Stream Socket Transports tcp, udp
Registered Stream Filters convert.iconv.*, string.rot13, string.toupper, string.tolower, string.strip_tags, convert.*, consumed, zlib.*
 

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
240
So it behaves the way it should. Are you sure there are no syntax errors in your scripts...?

Note that you should use <?php ... ?> and not <? ... ?>
Short-hand tags will try to interpret <?xml ... ?> which will end up in a big mess.
 

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
PHP:
TEST1
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
  <head>
  <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1250">
  <meta name="generator" content="PSPad editor, www.pspad.com">
  <title></title>
  </head>
  <body>
       <form method="post" action="TEST2.html">
       <br> TEST <br>
       <input type="hidden" name="url" value=<?php echo $_SERVER["PHP_SELF"] ?>
       <input type="submit" name="continue" value="Continue>">
       </form>
  </body>
</html>

PHP:
TEST2
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
  <head>
  <meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1250">
  <meta name="generator" content="PSPad editor, www.pspad.com">
  <title></title>
  </head>
  <body>
<?php
$url=$_POST["url"];
echo $url;
echo "TEST2";
?>
  </body>
</html>
 

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
PHP doesn't work when I have a HTML file, but at home I can have a HTML file witH PHP functions and it works there, too!
 

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
240
It'd suggest you learn how to configure your webserver.

Interpreting .html files using PHP isn't default behaviour. You have to add it yourself.
 

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
240
First, you read the documentation and then you go through the configuration file, locate the entry that defines the PHP handler for .php files and add the same one for .html
 

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
Sorry I didn't got it. Also at home pc I installed it like I have on this pc but it works better on home pc :S
 

Rad

...
Reaction score
228
PHP:
       <input type="hidden" name="url" value=<?php echo $_SERVER["PHP_SELF"] ?>

There is no ending angle bracket there.

Also, you are accessing the page from localhost/test1.php right?

It wont work simply opening the file, it must be an html request.


In order to show the page correctly after you type localhost, you must have port 80 forwarded. This will cause trouble at school/work etc.


In order to parse HTML files using PHP: http://www.desilva.biz/php/phpinhtml.html
 

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
PHP:
<input type="hidden" name="url" value=<?php echo $_SERVER["PHP_SELF"] ?>
Well this does not need a braket at end. When I do it there is one > in the input line.

Also I tested it and it didn't work :S
 

Anachron

New Member
Reaction score
53
I wrote those but definitly I didn't find any solution to my problem after 3 hours of searching in the documentations.. <.<
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Ghan Ghan:
    Still lurking
    +3
  • The Helper The Helper:
    I am great and it is fantastic to see you my friend!
    +1
  • The Helper The Helper:
    If you are new to the site please check out the Recipe and Food Forum https://www.thehelper.net/forums/recipes-and-food.220/
  • Monovertex Monovertex:
    How come you're so into recipes lately? Never saw this much interest in this topic in the old days of TH.net
  • Monovertex Monovertex:
    Hmm, how do I change my signature?
  • tom_mai78101 tom_mai78101:
    Signatures can be edit in your account profile. As for the old stuffs, I'm thinking it's because Blizzard is now under Microsoft, and because of Microsoft Xbox going the way it is, it's dreadful.
  • The Helper The Helper:
    I am not big on the recipes I am just promoting them - I use the site as a practice place promoting stuff
    +2
  • Monovertex Monovertex:
    @tom_mai78101 I must be blind. If I go on my profile I don't see any area to edit the signature; If I go to account details (settings) I don't see any signature area either.
  • The Helper The Helper:
    You can get there if you click the bell icon (alerts) and choose preferences from the bottom, signature will be in the menu on the left there https://www.thehelper.net/account/preferences
  • The Helper The Helper:
    I think I need to split the Sci/Tech news forum into 2 one for Science and one for Tech but I am hating all the moving of posts I would have to do
  • The Helper The Helper:
    What is up Old Mountain Shadow?
  • The Helper The Helper:
    Happy Thursday!
    +1
  • Varine Varine:
    Crazy how much 3d printing has come in the last few years. Sad that it's not as easily modifiable though
  • Varine Varine:
    I bought an Ender 3 during the pandemic and tinkered with it all the time. Just bought a Sovol, not as easy. I'm trying to make it use a different nozzle because I have a fuck ton of Volcanos, and they use what is basically a modified volcano that is just a smidge longer, and almost every part on this thing needs to be redone to make it work
  • Varine Varine:
    Luckily I have a 3d printer for that, I guess. But it's ridiculous. The regular volcanos are 21mm, these Sovol versions are about 23.5mm
  • Varine Varine:
    So, 2.5mm longer. But the thing that measures the bed is about 1.5mm above the nozzle, so if I swap it with a volcano then I'm 1mm behind it. So cool, new bracket to swap that, but THEN the fan shroud to direct air at the part is ALSO going to be .5mm to low, and so I need to redo that, but by doing that it is a little bit off where it should be blowing and it's throwing it at the heating block instead of the part, and fuck man
  • Varine Varine:
    I didn't realize they designed this entire thing to NOT be modded. I would have just got a fucking Bambu if I knew that, the whole point was I could fuck with this. And no one else makes shit for Sovol so I have to go through them, and they have... interesting pricing models. So I have a new extruder altogether that I'm taking apart and going to just design a whole new one to use my nozzles. Dumb design.
  • Varine Varine:
    Can't just buy a new heatblock, you need to get a whole hotend - so block, heater cartridge, thermistor, heatbreak, and nozzle. And they put this fucking paste in there so I can't take the thermistor or cartridge out with any ease, that's 30 dollars. Or you can get the whole extrudor with the direct driver AND that heatblock for like 50, but you still can't get any of it to come apart
  • Varine Varine:
    Partsbuilt has individual parts I found but they're expensive. I think I can get bits swapped around and make this work with generic shit though
  • Ghan Ghan:
    Heard Houston got hit pretty bad by storms last night. Hope all is well with TH.
  • The Helper The Helper:
    Power back on finally - all is good here no damage
    +2
  • V-SNES V-SNES:
    Happy Friday!
    +1
  • The Helper The Helper:
    New recipe is another summer dessert Berry and Peach Cheesecake - https://www.thehelper.net/threads/recipe-berry-and-peach-cheesecake.194169/

      The Helper Discord

      Members online

      Affiliates

      Hive Workshop NUON Dome World Editor Tutorials

      Network Sponsors

      Apex Steel Pipe - Buys and sells Steel Pipe.
      Top