trying to understand Order Strings

Halisika

Reaction score
• everything I've read says they cannot be changed because they are "hardcoded in the game". Does this mean if I take all order strings off a custom ability, it will do nothing? Or does it mean that it will only use the parameters in Data and Stats?
• I just don't understand how they work, and why they exist if the effects of the actual spell can be modified in the Ability Editor.
I have looked around the Internet before posting this, and nothing seems to have worked.

I'm not sure if I could really help, I'm also new to the world editor. Regarding your question about order strings. Order strings are very important in an ability especially, if the custom ability you have made had a custom trigger. Changing the order string would cause an error. Although, if the ability you made has no custom trigger and you choose to change the order string, it won't. The ability will still works like the default ability and the effects are base on the data that you edited.. Example: You created a custom ability that is base on Entangling Roots, this has an order string of entanglingroots too, then you change the string to frostnova, it won't cause an error, the spell still works unless if the custom ability has a custom trigger that requires a dummy to use the string for the ability to effect.

Sometimes it's necessary to change the order strings, especially if the ability is base on Spell Book. If you created a hero and it's four skills is base on spell book, you need to change the order string of one spell book different from the other.

I hope that somehow I was able to help. Sorry for my bad English...

Yeah I'm definitely clear on how you can't have two abilities with the same order string or they'll screw up. But in your example, if you BASE the ability on Entangling Roots but change the string to "frostnova", which one will it be? How will it change?