A few WarCraft Tips

Rheias

New Helper (I got over 2000 posts)
Reaction score
Introduction
Recently I started playing WarCraft III (The Frozen Throne) again. Not something serious, but from time to time I would log in a play a bit. Anyway, I never saw a thread with tips about dear WarCraft, so I thought I would just write few basic things down and let you read and comment. Enjoy.

Base

Workers - You should always have at least between nine to eleven workers. At least five should collect gold, and the others should harvest wood, this way you get enough resources, but you still have enough food for your army. If you want, you can save the last worker as a builder, although most of the times it isn’t the best choice to do so. Also note that when playing Humans or Orcs (and even Night Elves) workers can take a rule in defending your base when it is under attack.

Distance - It is very important to keep your buildings not too close, else units would get stuck and wouldn’t be able to move. However, having the buildings too far from each other would make your base too big and it would be hard to defend it in case of an attack.

Guarding Towers - Each race has at least one guarding tower, use them! They are very strong and can hold your enemies in case of an attack until your army can come and defend it. The only units that can destroy towers alone are siege units (Mortar team, etc.), but they are quite weak, so you can destroy them easily in case the enemy bring some of those.

More Bases - The fact that you start with only one base doesn’t mean you can’t have more! It is warmly suggested that you have several bases so you could collect resources faster, and in case your first base is ruined you have a back up.

Build - All buildings have a role, so build as many buildings as you can. Even if the building seems useless to you, other building may need it in order to be built. Also every unit has its weakness, having many unit types would great a very powerful army.