Building my first computer - What should I look for?

Haxxors

Reaction score
Hey there, I've been using the same rig for about 7 years now and I must say, for its age it has performed amazing. It has carried me through Age of Empires to Rise of Nations to WoW to Warcraft 3 and everything.

However, it is obviously outdated (I have to play warcraft 3 on lowest settings, and even then my FPS in wow is 10)

I'm tired of missing out on things because my computer is just simply bad for everything now.

My hope is to build a computer that is strong enough to run WoW at a nice FPS, but also be able to play Starcraft 2 and possibly Diablo 3 at a decent performance, and be a decent machine for several years to come, or at least one that will upgrade easily. I hope to spend no more than $800 (But I would prefer the price be around 600-700).

Any advice or specific parts I should get or anything would be greatly appreciated.

Exide

I am amazingly focused right now!
Reaction score

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
Here's a build to consider:

Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800

ASUS M4A78 Plus AM3/AM2+/AM2

AMD Phenom II X4 920 2.8GHz

SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW DVD Burner

SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card

CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX 450W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS

Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Grand Total: $754.87

Advantages: