Good way of making synergy ability?

millz-

Reaction score
As I am still quite new to WE, I don't really know many other more possibilities of playing around with it. I am trying to make a passive ability, much like Diablo II's Sorceress' Lightning Mastery whereby when it's learned or leveled up, passively increases lightning skills'/other skills' damage.

My normal abilities will have 10 levels each. What I have thought of doing was if I learned the mastery level, use trigger to raise other ability level to level + 10*mastery level. But it would get really troublesome to make 110 levels for every spell.

Is there any good way to implement this kind of synergy?

Rllulium

Reaction score
There is a ability called Engineering upgrade that can do similar things, by exchanging one ability for another. Basicly you can have one set of abilities per level of mastery ability. That's still alot of abilities/ability levels to do thou; the positive thing being that it requires no trigger.
Another thing is to let all your abilities deal damage through triggers, and add the mastery ability's level to the damage calculation. But I would recommend the first of these two solutions.

tooltiperror

Super Moderator
Reaction score
Maybe you could trigger the spell with integers. Here goes nothing.

Trigger:
  • Dealing Damage
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Ability being cast) Equal to Animate Dead
    • Actions
      • Unit - Set life of (Target unit of ability being cast) to (Damage Dealt)

Trigger:
  • Dealing Damage
    • Events
      • Time - Every 10.00 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set DamageDealt = (DamageDealt + 10)

It could use balancing based upon your damage system, but basic idea is there.

millz-

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply Rllulium but I think the engineering upgrade method would be 10 times more troublesome than my original idea of having 110 ability levels.