RPG Planes of Ancient Legend

C

Crosus

I've been rolling this idea around in my mind for a few months, and now I've decided to see if there would be any interest among the community for it. The project I am proposing would be rather formidible. So please, read on and tell me what you think of the idea.

Concept:
Build an RPG on a massive scale for Warcraft 3: TFT
The RPG will span multiple max size maps. If interest is shown, custom models, interface art, and complex spells will be utilized.
Players will be able to level up a hero to a very large level cap (say 50 or 60). The XP table will be modified so that leveling will be more on the scale of a traditional RPG and will allow for long lasting entertainment value.

How:
Players can traverse between maps using a single character savecode that will be valid in each map that is part of the project.
Each map will represent a different area of the rpg's world, and will share a single set of data for items, spells, and heroes. The game experience will be the same, but it will be as if you traversing into new lands with your hero as you progress to max level.

Zones / Quests:
Each zone map will be custom terrained to fit the theme of its area. Custom creeps unique to each zone will be present at unique difficulty levels.
Some possibilities are:
1. Zones are tuned to cater to specific hero level ranges, i.e. 25-35, any player below this level will proably be dying a lot without help.
-or-
2. Zones might have areas for different level ranges within them. For instance a player might journey to a swamp at level 15, but their level 50 friend can also join in, and go to a much higher level section of the map with tougher enemies and better loot. (I prefer this idea better myself)

Each zone will also have scripted story line events that may follow a single, linear story line. Progressing in the story would be optional (and possibly repeatable, if you just wished to load up an earlier zone and re-experience it)