redirecting attacking unit

scubazoo

Member
Reaction score
1
hey i wanted to make a trigger where a unit finishes killing a unit, and then is ordered to attack a new unit within range of 5000. however, i want this to work for a bunch of units, like twenty units attack one unit, and when they kill it, each of them is given a new order to attack a new unit. help please
 

Master

Thou shall be helped by...The Black Adder!
Reaction score
72
Something like
Code:
Events:
A unit dies
Actions:
Pick every units within 5000.00 range of (position of (killing unit)) and do Order (Killing Unit) to attack (Picked Unit)
 

scubazoo

Member
Reaction score
1
no, because this only works for the killing unit. suppose there are twenty zombies in an area. the unit they attack dies, then i want all of them to go find a new unit to attack

i have tried this:
unit dies
pick every unit in 2000 of dying unit and do action
if unit is zombie equal to true then do order unit to attack random unit from units withing 5000 of dying unit if matching unit belongs to enemy of owner of zombie

this works, although, because the zombies are picking a random unit, they could end upo picking another zombie, in which case they would not have a target and they would do nothing

how do i fix this, so the zombie will only pick an enemy unit
ty
 

MoonSlinger

I Love using Cheap Tricks... only Results matters
Reaction score
74
How about first locating a target withing 5000 radius, set it as a variable, then order all the zombies to attack that target.

You would need an "Else" condition where no target is available for the zombies. A boolean variable stores if a target is found or not.
 

scubazoo

Member
Reaction score
1
hmm, could you explain that better, and would that work for all units around the zombies. i need them to be able to attack all enemy units within that radius randomly.
 

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
889
Try this:

Code:
Next Kill
    Events
        Unit - A unit Dies
    Conditions
    Actions
        Set TempPoint = (Position of (Triggering unit))
        Set TempGroup = (Units within 2000.00 of TempPoint matching ((Unit-type of (Matching unit)) Not equal to Zombie))
        Set UnitVariable = (Random unit from TempGroup)
        Custom script:   call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup)
        Set TempGroup = (Units within 2000.00 of TempPoint matching ((Unit-type of (Matching unit)) Equal to Zombie))
        Unit Group - Pick every unit in TempGroup and do (Actions)
            Loop - Actions
                Unit - Order (Picked unit) to Attack UnitVariable
        Custom script:   call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup)
        Custom script:   call RemoveLocation(udg_TempPoint)
 

scubazoo

Member
Reaction score
1
ok it looks pretty good, although, there are two tempgroups, then wouldnt the units equal to zombies and not equal to zombies be in the same group? and i dont understnad the custom script either.

as long as when a unit dies, the zombies within 2000 of the dying unit go and attack all enemy units within a radius of 5000. so i cant tell if your trigger does this ghan.
 

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
889
Here's an explanation of what it does:

1. When a unit dies, a point is defined.
2. A range of 2000 is used.
3. It puts all units that are not zombies into a group.
4. It sets a unit variable to a random unit from that group.
5. The first Custom Script destroys the group, basically clearing it.
6. The group is reset, but this time it only includes zombies.
7. It orders all the units in the new unit group to attack the unit variable, which is the random unit.
8. It clears the group again with custom script. This eliminates leaks.
 

scubazoo

Member
Reaction score
1
thats pretty good. although can you make it so that instead of making the all the zombies attack the same unit, have them each attack a random unit from the tem group?

could i just have pick every unit in tempgroup of zombies and have it attack random unit from tempgroup of nonzombies?
 

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
889
> could i just have pick every unit in tempgroup of zombies and have it attack random unit from tempgroup of nonzombies?

To do that, you would need two unit group variables.
 

scubazoo

Member
Reaction score
1
hmm i thought there wer two unit group variables.
would this work

unit dies

pick every unit within 2000 of dying unit not owned by zombie player, and add to group

pick every unit within 2000 of dying unit owned by zombie player and add to another group

then do pick every unit in zombie group and do order picked unit to attack random unit from other group


and then would i need the destroy the groups? or would the groups automatically reset every time a unit died?
 

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
889
Try this:

Code:
Redirect
    Events
        Unit - A unit Dies
    Conditions
    Actions
        Set TempPoint = (Position of (Triggering unit))
        Set TempGroup1 = (Units within 2000.00 of TempPoint matching ((Unit-type of (Matching unit)) Not equal to Footman))
        Set TempGroup2 = (Units within 2000.00 of TempPoint matching ((Unit-type of (Matching unit)) Equal to Footman))
        Unit Group - Pick every unit in TempGroup2 and do (Actions)
            Loop - Actions
                Unit - Order (Picked unit) to Attack (Random unit from TempGroup1)
        Custom script:   call RemoveLocation(udg_TempPoint)
        Custom script:   call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup1)
        Custom script:   call DestroyGroup(udg_TempGroup2)
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Ghan Ghan:
    Howdy
  • Ghan Ghan:
    Still lurking
    +3
  • The Helper The Helper:
    I am great and it is fantastic to see you my friend!
    +1
  • The Helper The Helper:
    If you are new to the site please check out the Recipe and Food Forum https://www.thehelper.net/forums/recipes-and-food.220/
  • Monovertex Monovertex:
    How come you're so into recipes lately? Never saw this much interest in this topic in the old days of TH.net
  • Monovertex Monovertex:
    Hmm, how do I change my signature?
  • tom_mai78101 tom_mai78101:
    Signatures can be edit in your account profile. As for the old stuffs, I'm thinking it's because Blizzard is now under Microsoft, and because of Microsoft Xbox going the way it is, it's dreadful.
  • The Helper The Helper:
    I am not big on the recipes I am just promoting them - I use the site as a practice place promoting stuff
    +2
  • Monovertex Monovertex:
    @tom_mai78101 I must be blind. If I go on my profile I don't see any area to edit the signature; If I go to account details (settings) I don't see any signature area either.
  • The Helper The Helper:
    You can get there if you click the bell icon (alerts) and choose preferences from the bottom, signature will be in the menu on the left there https://www.thehelper.net/account/preferences
  • The Helper The Helper:
    I think I need to split the Sci/Tech news forum into 2 one for Science and one for Tech but I am hating all the moving of posts I would have to do
  • The Helper The Helper:
    What is up Old Mountain Shadow?
  • The Helper The Helper:
    Happy Thursday!
    +1
  • Varine Varine:
    Crazy how much 3d printing has come in the last few years. Sad that it's not as easily modifiable though
  • Varine Varine:
    I bought an Ender 3 during the pandemic and tinkered with it all the time. Just bought a Sovol, not as easy. I'm trying to make it use a different nozzle because I have a fuck ton of Volcanos, and they use what is basically a modified volcano that is just a smidge longer, and almost every part on this thing needs to be redone to make it work
  • Varine Varine:
    Luckily I have a 3d printer for that, I guess. But it's ridiculous. The regular volcanos are 21mm, these Sovol versions are about 23.5mm
  • Varine Varine:
    So, 2.5mm longer. But the thing that measures the bed is about 1.5mm above the nozzle, so if I swap it with a volcano then I'm 1mm behind it. So cool, new bracket to swap that, but THEN the fan shroud to direct air at the part is ALSO going to be .5mm to low, and so I need to redo that, but by doing that it is a little bit off where it should be blowing and it's throwing it at the heating block instead of the part, and fuck man
  • Varine Varine:
    I didn't realize they designed this entire thing to NOT be modded. I would have just got a fucking Bambu if I knew that, the whole point was I could fuck with this. And no one else makes shit for Sovol so I have to go through them, and they have... interesting pricing models. So I have a new extruder altogether that I'm taking apart and going to just design a whole new one to use my nozzles. Dumb design.
  • Varine Varine:
    Can't just buy a new heatblock, you need to get a whole hotend - so block, heater cartridge, thermistor, heatbreak, and nozzle. And they put this fucking paste in there so I can't take the thermistor or cartridge out with any ease, that's 30 dollars. Or you can get the whole extrudor with the direct driver AND that heatblock for like 50, but you still can't get any of it to come apart
  • Varine Varine:
    Partsbuilt has individual parts I found but they're expensive. I think I can get bits swapped around and make this work with generic shit though
  • Ghan Ghan:
    Heard Houston got hit pretty bad by storms last night. Hope all is well with TH.
  • The Helper The Helper:
    Power back on finally - all is good here no damage
    +2
  • V-SNES V-SNES:
    Happy Friday!
    +1

      The Helper Discord

      Staff online

      Members online

      Affiliates

      Hive Workshop NUON Dome World Editor Tutorials

      Network Sponsors

      Apex Steel Pipe - Buys and sells Steel Pipe.
      Top