Completely Custom Texture

Kyuft

Reaction score
Hello TH.net,
Does anybody know how to create a new texture for a unit? Do I need any special programs? Because when you use photoshop or paint, you can't exactly choose how to or where to apply the texture to a unit because it is flat. Anyone?
-Kyuft:shades:

Siretu

Starcraft 2 Editor Moderator
Reaction score
I'm not an artistic person and I try to avoid textures and modelling as much as I can but from what I understand, a texture is just a normal picture. Sure, it's flat but you then use it to wrap it around the unit. I don't know if this makes sense though. Think of a plastic toy that you want to wrap to give to your brother as a Christmas gift. The paper is flat, but it still works out. The texture wraps it perfectly so the gift actually looks exactly like the toy itself just with a wrapping around every part of it.

I don't know how to know what part gets wrapped where. I don't know much more about textures than this. I'm not even sure I'm correct on this one so take it with a grain of salt.

Kyuft

Reaction score
I understand that the texture is wrapped around the model, I just can't figure out if there is a way to know how it wraps around the unit.

GFreak45

I didnt slap you, i high 5'd your face.
Reaction score
export a current model's skin and compare, only way other than finding a site that has done so already and can point out how to do it.
generally the parts to the skin are easily recognizeable, oh thats a face, theres some pants oh and theres a shirt, can get a little harder when its a monster with a million parts and things dangling off ot it... but you can still manage to get it done.

Kyuft

Reaction score
That's what I plan to do. I just wish there was a way to know exactly how it applies. Like a program that puts the texture on the model and then you can select an area on the model, an it will show you where that area is on the flat texture.

GFreak45

Reaction score