Extremely Simple Guide to scratch, NO Programming Experinece required!(wip)

neos300

Reaction score
Extremely Simple Guide to scratch, NO Programming Experinece required!

Note: This program does not use code in any way. It is directed to the ABSOLUTE beginner. If you are looking for anything else theis not the place.
IF this is in the wrong place, mods can you please move it?

gr_cat.png
Scratch

Q:What is Scratch?

A:Scratch is a easy to use, beginner targeted programming enviorment.

Q:Why is it so easy to use?

A:It does not use code in any way, but uses a simple and effective gui
as such, it as not as powerful as C++ or Python or Java, but it is excellent for beginners.
Q:Where do i download it?

A:

Getting Started with Scratch

First, download and install Scratch from the picture located above. Now,(if it isnt already) open up scratch. You should get something like this:

Here i will explain the interface.

As you can see, its pretty simple.

Youre First program
Okay, i am going to post the code first, and then tell you what it does.

This script is supposed to make our little cat dance. Before you run it, i am going to show you what each part does

This is signifes that when you click the little green flag in the upper right corner, what ever is below happens.

This signifies that your sprite will move 10 steps(which actually isnt alot of space)

This is pretty self explanatory. It plays drum # 48 for 0.2 beats.

this moves your sprite backward 10 steps. It is found in the motion category.

And that is it. Try your program out, will ya.

Woops. It looks like Mr. Sprite isnt dancing for more than about a second. We need to fix that. So to fix that, we need to run it so it dosent stop. hmmm.... doesnt stop.

If you guessed we need a loop, you where right! here is a picture of the completed script, with the loop. (it is found in the control tab)

So now, our program is finished! Thats the end of this chapter.

Animation and sound