vile's Map Making Tips!

vile

Reaction score
Hi there everyone. I've been scripting with jass on warcraft 3 for 5 years now,
making several maps that me and my friends had alot of fun with, Age of Myths
is one of them.

During my experience with my map making, I learned alot, and I'd like to share
that knowledge with you, map makers that mess with jass or gui, so you won't have to
make the same mistakes that I made. I am not comparing my skills to famous known
brilliant jassers and coders like Vexorian/PitzerMike/PipeDream, but I have more experience
when it comes to map bugs, and that's where I'm getting at.

Map making is a bitch, I can tell you that. You should avoid the things I am listing
now, do whatever you want, but I feel I should say this.

Before I start though I want to point out that you should use Vexorian's NewGen Jass
pack, download it from http://wc3campaigns.net/showthread.php?goto=newpost&t=90999
and use it, to avoid lame crashes from the editor for minor coding mistakes and avoid triggeraction leaks for jass users.
Therefore, I will only post here bugs in the game itself, and not with world editor
crashing, since it can be easily avoided by using something else then the usual
world editor.
-----------------------------------------------

(Bug) Using a different buff for a spell that isn't its original buff will most likely
cause crashes in multiplayer gaming.
(Solution) Don't use a Freezing Breath buff on a War Stomp spell for example.
Modify the original buff that War Stomp uses and change whatever you want there.

(Bug) Don't ever try to move nullified lightning effect variables, it will instantly
cause a crash.
(Solution)
Always set a lightning variable to null whenever you finish using it and
destroying it, and use the following function(s) to move them:
Code:
function LightningMove takes lightning l, boolean checkvisibility, real x1, real y1, real x2, real y2 returns nothing
    if l!=null then