Short Story

DogOfHavoc

Future Tragedy
Reaction score
I wrote this for school, it's a little rough but here it is. As always, thoughts?

I don’t like homeless people. They are dirty, they smell, they are rude and they are a visual blemish. Such vagabonds are nothing like the fine and classy people that I work with at Lender and Spender Attorneys at Law. I’m a private practice attorney, and as such I get to interact with highly intelligent and intriguing people on a daily basis. I love coming to work everyday to that stately complex of offices where I work. Everyday as I walk down the sidewalk towards the building I swell with pride. I remember one day in particular at Lender and Spender that was not as pleasant at the rest. I was hustling down the sidewalk towards work. Every few seconds I glanced at my watch, afraid I would be late. Nervously I fumbled with my cufflinks and ruffled my hands over my suit coat. “Today is an important day” I thought to myself one of Lender and Spender’s most wealthy clients was paying a visit. I was especially proud of my outfit on that day. I was decked out in a beautiful blue suit jacket, with an extremely expensive yellow shirt and tie. So you can imagine my chagrin when I saw Frank loitering outside Lender and Spender. What a day to meet that guy. Frank was a grimy, nasty hobo. His face was covered in a gross grizzled beard and his hair was pinched into long strands of dirty braids. He wore a tattered mass of gray rags for clothing and his teeth were yellow and gross, probably from drugs, alcohol, dirty food or a wonderful medley of all three. As I hustled up the marble stairs into Lender and Spender I tried hard not to look at that abomination, but he would not be ignored. The crazy street man dove in front of me, rattling a cup in his hands.
“Spare change Mr. Fancypants?” he inquired with mock respect.