JASS / Channel Ability Question

B

BigNailCow

Hi all. I'm new to WC3 editing and JASS in general, but I've been programming in a multitude of languages for a long time, so my question isn't about syntax or anything like that.

Everywhere I've looked it says to use the Channel ability as a template for an ability that does nothing and needs to be coded in a trigger. Well, this works, but it's not exactly doing *nothing*. If models are specified in the various Art Effect fields, it creates the effects still. Is there a way to disable this without removing the models from the effect fields?

Here's the JASS part: Alternatively, is there a way to load models into these effect fields while a trigger is executing? I ask because I want to use the EFFECT_TYPE constants instead of model path strings.

Thanks!

phyrex1an

Staff Member and irregular helper
Reaction score
<Is there a way to disable this without removing the models from the effect fields?
Now way that I know of, when an ability is casted then the game will look at the effect fields and create all effects that should be created. Some effect fields are ignored for some abilities.

<Alternatively, is there a way to load models into these effect fields while a
<trigger is executing? I ask because I want to use the EFFECT_TYPE
<constants instead of model path strings.
I fail to understand this question, all EFFECT_TYPE_*** constant are just meant to be parameters for GetAbilityEffectById() and GetAbilityEffect() so you can get the model paths for an ability.
You can get the model paths from an ability, not changing them at run time.
Even if you could you would still have to use model paths strings.

If you meant something else then please clarify your question.

B

BigNailCow