Low-Cost Computer That Can Run Wc3

Zedzy

ℑΣÐℑΨ
Reaction score
I am looking for a computer, available in Ontario, Canada, preferably under 400$ Canadian, but I can probably go up to 500$ CAN. This would need to be able run Warcraft 3, and the World Editor easily. I have access to a monitor, mouse, and keyboard already (though I'm open to suggestions for a new mouse or keyboard), but I have no knowledge of putting computers together. This computer will also be used to access forums, and occasionally used for school work. This computer would preferably BE run Windows XP.

Warcraft 3 system requirements:

Minimum System Requirements:

• 400 MHz Pentium II or equivalent, or a 400 MHz G3 processor or better.
  • Windows 98, Windows ME, Windows 2000, or Windows XP.
  • Warcraft III requires 128 MB of RAM.
  • A keyboard and mouse are required.
  • A hard drive with at least 550 MB of free space
  • 8MB 3D video card (TNT, i810, Voodoo 3, Rage 128 equivalent or better) with DirectX 8.1 support.
  • A DirectX-compatible 16-bit sound card is recommended.

Recommended System Requirements:

• 600 MHz processor or better
  • 256 MB of RAM
  • 32 MB 3D Video card

C&P'd from here.

Thanks for any suggestions (lol cap lock before edit) :thup:,

Zedzy

ℑΣÐℑΨ
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion, though within my price range, I will try to find less expensive alternatives.

Rad

Reaction score
I would suggest searching in the $300-$400 price range (USD, I don't know canadian rates though).

Just about any of those will be able to handle Warcraft III. It's an older game and shouldn't be a problem. However, I highly suggest getting a dual core processor. I suggest an "Athlon 64 X2" as they have great performance even for low budget PCs.

Make sure its the X2, Athlon 64's exist and they are single core, Athlon X2 also list under a different category for some reason. They could be 32bit, I doubt it, but it wouldn't matter as most Windows operating systems are 32bit.