Win/Mac/Linux on one machine? :D

warcraft7

Reaction score
i plan to eventually build a custom PC so just wondering, gamer here so ill end up with windows as my main but would it be possible to install the 3 major OSes if i were to get 3 hard drives? sorry PC noob here.

So id guess keeping the windows hard drive as the master and the other 2 as slaves? case has like 12 slots for misc things so i got plenty of room.

Ghan

Administrator - Servers are fun
Staff member
Reaction score
I don't know if it's possible to install Mac OS on a typical PC machine. But I know next to nothing about Mac, so I can't be sure.
In principle, there is nothing to stop you from doing what you describe, but you might have to be careful about bootloader wars that may ensue as a result.

Slapshot136

Divide et impera
Reaction score
you don't even need 3 hard drives, you can partition 1 hard drive to have 4 partitions and install each one on a seperate partition - the 4th partition is for a bootloader that lets you choose which of the 3 OS's you would like to boot into, and I would recommend installing them in this order: Mac OS, followed by windows, followed by linux and then using the linux bootloader.

also, the master/slave thing is a thing of the past where IDE drives were used (those with the very wide cable), and only because the cable was so large and wide, 2 drives shared the same cable - newer drives just use sata cables and each drive has their own cable.

edit: and for the mac OS, you need to check what parts you buy if they are mac-compatible or not (aka if apple has drivers for them or not), this is a good site for that

I should also mention that it would be illegal to sell a custom built computer with Mac OS installed on it

Slapshot136

Divide et impera
Reaction score
Whys that? =/ and ya...ive only put old PCs together lol