New to World Editor

A-SM

Reaction score
Hi, all. I'm new to World Editor, I've been playing DotA for at least 3 years. It's true that DotA is an excellent game, but lately I began to think to create my own little map. But I'm a little confused with Jass Script and the GUI trigger. I have a little knowledge about algorithm, although it's in Java. But I think it's not that big difference with Jass's. Well, lets go to the question. I have finished my first GUI trigger which will increase the Ring of Regeneration charges everytime we pick the the same item. But I'm confused when it comes to creating a trigger which will display the damage dealt, my logic says that the trigger will have to do something like this:

Code:
-Event
A unit is attacked
-Condition
None
-Action
Set varA = Attacked Unit's current life (before getting hit)
Set varB = Attacked Unit's current life (after getting hit)
Create floating text above attacked unit that reads VarA-VarB
Wait 0.30
Destroy last floating text

Well, I didn't find a way to create the varA, since it will always come to current life after getting hit.
And how to create a floating text which has a rising motion?

ultimate11

Reaction score
Event that u are using is no good.Unit attaked register the attacking and attacked unit and the damaged or damagind unit no.
so u need the event like
Trigger:
  • Paladin(ex. unit) take damage //wich is a specific unit event

Weep damage detection is very good in order to manipulate this type of triggers cuz u dont need to add the damage detection trigger new event to each unit u want to "index"
for your knowleadge what u can do without weep DDG is.
create a trigger named DDG with no coditions or event
Trigger:
  • Events
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Floating text - <span style="font-family: 'Consolas'">Create floating text above (triggering unit) that reads VarA-VarB</span>
      • Floating text - (last created floating text) disable permanence