Spells - Basics of Trigger Enhancing Spells

Murkatal

Reaction score
Omg this is an amazing tutorial. It is one of the best ones i've seen yet. I'd hug u but i'm not gay and i dun't know where u live

C

careswho

hi confused...

im confused at this part... im a beginner at this as in from scratch..

i dont get the part of making a formula...first of all...where can i make it?where can i type it down??how can i put it in??please help me... i dont know this part..
this is the passage:

Now, things get more complicated, because depending on the type of the target (organic, mechanical or building), the dummy does something. It is clear that this is the step where things get different for each single-target spell. We are going to use multiple Ifs, each to check if the target is Organic, or Mechanical or Building. I don’t suggest you insert in the else of an if another IF because you may slowly realize that you get nothing from the code, especially when more complicated codes come out.

So, we will start with the first IF. It checks if the target is a building, and if it is, it damages the target. However, for the damage you need a formula, because if the level of the ability is bigger, then the damage is bigger as well. So your formula must depend on the level of the ability. Let’s have a look at the damage:

50 for level 1, 75 for level 2 and 100 for level 3. It is clear that with each level, the damage increases by 25. This difference between levels MUST be a constant if you want to use a formula. The difference is called Ratio. Usually the formula is something like this:

Code:

(Level 1 damage – Ratio)+(Ratio*Level of the Ability)

And suddenly things are getting simpler eh? In code, the formula would look like this:

Code:

Damage = (50-25)+(25*(Current Level of (Shocking Destructor) for (Triggering Unit))