Worlds Smallest Ecosystem

Cornface

Avoid, if at all possible.
Reaction score
Okey, I am sitting on some homework atm, and I have googled around and some stuff but I can't find it. I am supposed to find the simplest and smallest eco system, but I can't find it anywhere on the internetz, so I thought I ask here.

EDIT: More importantly it is simple, doesn't have to be the smallest around. Yes, I got the title wrong.

Wiseman_2

Missy wants blood!
Reaction score
Curiously, I am studying ecosystems right now. One of the most basic ecosystems (I think) would be a temperate grassland ecosystem.

It's just cattle and sheep and insects and birds and grass. That sort of thing. If you mean food chains/webs then it's also fairly simple. There are probably simpler ones out there (tundra might be worth looking into) but I couldn't tell you for certain. Go look up those two, they might help :)

Cornface

Avoid, if at all possible.
Reaction score
Well, I am more thinking of an closed eco system, the only thing they get from the outside world is sunlight.

Chao

Setting sail for fail in the sea of lame.
Reaction score
I think your best bet would be a closed ecosystem; think of Ponds. Bugs, small amphibians, plant life.
Or, maybe something desolate, ie. mountainous, where you're likely to get goats, grasses, and cougars.

gameman

It's been a long, long time.
Reaction score
I might have the wrong information, but look into tidal pools.

Wiseman_2

Missy wants blood!
Reaction score
A closed ecosystem? Hmmm... well, I think that an ideal candidate for that would be a small island. Nothing's going to get there but the sunlight, is it?
Darwin, for example, noticed that in the Galapagos Islands, there were different species evolved on each of the islands, despite being just a short distance away.
Tropical Rainforest also, somewhat suprisingly, falls into that category, because there's so little space. But it's probably way too diverse for what you're looking for.

Ozzdog