Detect Pathing for camera zooming Possible?

Tooblet

Reaction score
Heya, I'm pretty new at jass, but I'm toying around with AceHearts Third Person Camera system and was planning on making it so it detects unwalkable pathing.

What I want is for the camera to auto-zoom in when the camera is "over" a piece of unwalkable pathing.
I'm not really sure on how to solve this problem and I bet it requires a bit of math. but anyways...

I've been trying to add some sort of location to where the current distance to target for my camera is, and then reducing it.
But I never get it to work and my brain is melting trying to do this :p
I've seen systems changing Angle of attack when the unit is near a cliff or a high hill.
That's sort of what I'm looking for, exept I want it to zoom in and detect if terrain is walkable in some way.
So I can make buildings u can walk inside of and when nearing a wall and turn so the units back is against the wall, the camera will zoom in,
so u cant see throught the wall. :)

I guess it may be too complicated at my stage of Jassing, but I find I learn best when taking really BIG challenges early on. makes me learn more than one thing at a time.

So, anyone has a solution or any idéa if this is possible and if so, how?

I thank in advance

EDIT: I found a way to detect pathing in SOME way in a knockback system.
But I wouldn't know how to apply that to a camera.

Tooblet

Reaction score
yeah I tried that, but it only detects Z offset for cliff heights and such.
and also changes the Angle of Attack.

I want it to detect if there is unwalkable pathing and zoom in if detected.

whatever, I'll figure it out as I learn more jass :)

Viikuna

No Marlo no game.
Reaction score
Well, you can use native IsTerrainPathable to find out if terrain has some spesific pathingtype. ( this is usefull when you try to check if some point is in water or not )