Detecting Non-Online/LAN Play

illidan92

Reaction score
Yeah i've never done it before and i'm a skilled JASSer so this question is almost embarassing for me to ask: How exactly do I detect if the game is not online or on LAN (because you can't use cheats in those)? I heard a vague description of saving destroying then loading a game cache which is too vague for me to know what to do. Do I make a game cache, add a variable to it destroy it then try to get the variable again or something and if I do its single player?

illidan92

Reaction score
I know, and thats not what i'm asking. The point is so people can solo in my game Undead Assault II and still save if they play on LAN or host a private game for themself on B.net.

Narks

Vastly intelligent whale-like being from the stars
Reaction score
If they play by themself, they can cheat, still. Even online.

They simply edit the memory, or use some sort of offline stat hack, which would work similar to a SC offline mineral hack.

illidan92

Reaction score
You can't cheat online or in LAN (iseedeadpeople etc.), and i'm not counter-acting hackers here. Can you just tell me how to do it instead of arguing about my motivations to do so?

Narks

Vastly intelligent whale-like being from the stars
Reaction score
I'm not talking about cheat codes.

I'm talking about using a memory editor to simply give yourself indefinite gold, lumber, or in your case, experience.

Anyway, I doubt it is possible to detect whether the game is offline or online. However, you can prevent cheating by using check-sums and tricky anticheats.

What you do, is reserve a bit of the map for your little anticheats. Also, you might want to make this bit of the map out of camera bounds.