First Dummy Caster Attempt - Fail

Apostle O

Reaction score
Well, this is my first time trying to create a spell using a dummy caster trigger. It isn't working, and I can't figure out why.

I will try to distill this down as much as I can.

Hero has an ability called "Eyes of the Enemy." Think of it as a permanent Faerie Fire without the overhead graphic or the armor debuff. I created this as a dummy spell off of Channel, with Base Order ID of "faeriefire."

I also created a dummy caster with 100000 max and initial mana, incidentally. If you need any more details of this unit, I can fork them over.

Then, I created a spell called "Eyes of the Enemy DUMMY." This spell is based on Faerie Fire itself, and the Order String is still "faeriefire."

Finally, I created a trigger:

Code:
Unit - A unit Finishes casting an ability
(Ability being cast) Equal to Eyes of the Enemy 
Unit - Create 1 DUMMY CASTER for (Owner of (Triggering unit)) at (Position of (Targeted unit)) facing (Position of (Targeted unit))
Unit - Add Eyes of the Enemy DUMMY to (Last created unit)
Unit - Order (Last created unit) to Night Elf Druid Of The Talon - Faerie Fire (Target unit of ability being cast)
I removed the line of code which would remove the dummy caster for troubleshooting purposes, but do you see anything I am missing?

Thanks,
Apostle O

FireBladesX

Eating my wings!
Reaction score
The reason is that "Finishes casting an ability" can't be checked by "Ability being cast".

Also, are you using an expiration timer on your dummy? Just asking because you said "remove dummy", and it's a bad idea to do it that way.

Is it copied word-for-word, or freehand? How'd you get "targeted unit"?

Azlier

Old World Ghost
Reaction score
Why don't you base the spell off of Faerie Fire in the first place :confused:

lindenkron

You can change this now in User CP
Reaction score
Trigger:
  • UsingDummyUnits
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Starts the effect of an ability
    • Conditions