Need Guidance: Basics

Zetrix91

TH.net Regular
Reaction score
okay, first off im just getting started with the sc2 editor, not even playing the game but i really enjoyed making maps and heroes and such in wc3.
first off i wanted to create a unit, and make it a hero, i found the guide to make a unit a hero, but i dont even know how to create a unit, it all seems to advaced. when i make a unit or even duplicate a unit, i dont seem to get the model with me, any pointers?
and secondly: what is "actors"?

ZeroPoints

Reaction score
In Data editor change the Data type to Units from the drop down menu. Then Click Data tab at top of window and Add Unit. Give unit a name(potato) and just click suggest for the ID. Leave the Based on: as default unit. Object familty can be left as (None). Race: Can be any zerg,protoss,terran,neutral(i just leave mine neutral). Object Type: change to Hero. And Copy from: any unit eg: Marine.
Now to make your unit to appear on the map you need actors. Actors control what your unit does on map i think so you have to create an Actor for every Hero you make. The actor also control your units model.