Where to start?

Sil3nt

SUP?
Reaction score
Well I've been wanting to learn how to make cool and smooth looking sites, because I want to prepare my skills to make myself a portfolio in the future. However, my skills and knowledge in this area are very limited.

I am wanting to learn how to create something like this
http://www.mullerphoto.com/

I couldn't remember the site I was thinking of, but that would do. You know those portfolio's where you click on a picture and the layout changes by sliding the objects around? Well, If I find one like it, I'll edit this post.

What progamming language is used to create this kind of stuff? Java? Flash? Is flash even a language? What is it? Is there a difference?

If anyone has a complete beginner's tutorial on how to create a site like this it would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

edit- If it helps, I have access to Adobe Dreamweaver

Sil3nt

SUP?
Reaction score
Is flash a language itself, or is it a 'type' of language? I'm just asking because Java seems similar to flash..but yeah..iono what I'm talking about.

monoVertex

I'm back!
Reaction score
Flash is the program... the program includes various things: graphics, animations, scripting.

The script used by Flash is Actionscript. Java is not similar to Flash. He said learn flash as in learn how to use the entire program, including scripting, because you will not manage to make a website like that only with Actionscript. However, I do not recommend making flash websites.

Deathcom3s

Reaction score
Note that Java and Javascript are two completely different things. Java is developed by Sun Microsystems, and is based on C++. Javascript is a language, and I'm sure you mean Javascript.

But yeah, you'll need to know a lot about flash if you want to do something like.

monoVertex

I'm back!
Reaction score
No, is not Flash. That website is highly Javascript enhanced. I can say that from the incredible lag :p.