World Editor Freezes - Strange Problem

Xenoche

Reaction score
Hello people of thehelper.net, I would like to ask to whether anyone else has had the same problem that I have been experiencing.

Ive been mapping for a few years now and have had this problem for a while, but it seems to fluctuate and reappear every few months or so, making the problem even more elusive. Below I will describe the problem and outline as many specifics that I can muster.

The Problem:

This problem only ever happens when I am terraining, the textures begin to flicker, the flickering I have learned is the wind before the storm, basically within a period of 5 to 15 minutes the flickering continues and I have a series of system stalls ( System stalls; the computer completely freezes, the mouse doesn't work, winamp seems to repeat the same note that the system stalled on, basically everything stops ). After 3-5 of these system stalls the computer does one completely restarts, almost instantly, and upon restart displays a Microsoft Windows box stating the following:

The system has recovered from a serious error.

The data report that comes with this contains the following error signature:

BCCode : 100000ea BCP1 : 8225BDA8 BCP2 : 822A9940 BCP3 : F8A94CB4
BCP4 : 00000001 OSVer : 5_1_2600 SP : 2_0 Product : 768_1

The error report technical information:

C:\DOCUME~1\Xenoche\LOCALS~1\Temp\WERb764.dir00\Mini123107-01.dmp
C:\DOCUME~1\Xenoche\LOCALS~1\Temp\WERb764.dir00\sysdata.xml

Things Ive done so far:

After sending the error report to Microsoft it says to do the following actions to solve the problem:

1 - Install the most current device driver for my video card.
2 - Manually decrease Hardware Acceleration for your video adapter.

-Option one is completely pointless, as after installing numerous video drivers (properly, I'm not completely incompetent when it comes to computers), each driver fails to absolve the problem.