Changing the game view

S

stielydan

!Help me Darg, you're my only hope! Changing the game view

I am trying to make an RPG and i want to change the view to an over the shoulder type for all players. I can lock the view onto a unit but i cant change the angle or rotation. Please help me im getting really frustrated!

p.s. I have seen and used an over the shoulder camera angle in the map DM_MOD. i cant remember the author and he didnt have an email to ask him. His map didnt have any triggers either so im stumped...

Bomook

Reaction score
unfortunately I don't think this is possible...

besides, it'll be very nauseous for the players especially when they rotate 90 degrees in half a second.:p

Darg

Administrator
Reaction score
when you say 'over the shoulder' do you mean like in a third-person shooter kind of way? I've never done it myself, before, so I can't help with the specifics. If you downloaded that DM_MOD things from wc3campaigns, then I think that may have used some external engine to run it or something.

I imagine you would have to keep the camera periodically behind the unit (hint - periodic event).

Have you tried mucking around with 'lock camera target to unit' and 'lock camera orientation to unit'?

S

stielydan

HEY DARG< THANKS FOR ADVISING

-Ya i was thinking like a third-person shooter.
-i did use lock camera to unit, and orientation to unit every 2 seconds and it will follow them correctly but i cant get the camera to orientate(spin right?) with the units rotation and i cant get it to lower to that 3rd p shooter.
-Actually if u could just help with that rotation i would be happy with that, and just work on the angle later.
-The reason i really want that angle though is that in that mod i played with that angle it makes everything look so real, i mean, trees are tall and mountains look HUGE! its awesome.
-if you could help me with that i would appreciate it.

p.s. i really hope that wasnt some other engine doin that!!!

Scam_ent

Reaction score