Do sounds leak?

staind25

TH.net Regular
Reaction score
I was looking at one of the triggers from another map, and I saw this:

Trigger:
  • Sound - Play MageFrostNovaCast <gen> at 100.00% volume, located at (Position of (Triggering unit)) with Z offset 0.00
    • Custom script: set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true

Is the custom script necessary? Does it remove a leak? I'm just a beginner when it comes to removing leaks...I'm just starting...but I haven't heard of a sound variable leaking before. Was curious.

Thanks.

Carnerox

The one and only.
Reaction score
Trigger:
  • set bj_wantDestroyGroup = true

That is for UnitGroups, i have no clue why you are using it for sounds..

Tho idk if sounds leak.

Weep

Godspeed to the sound of the pounding
Reaction score
That has nothing to do with the sound; that line can be used just before a group action in order to prevent a group leak.

staind25

TH.net Regular
Reaction score
That's what I was thinking! Check it out - it's in the Maps/Frozen Throne/Scenario/ExtremeCandyWars2004 map...on the Frost Nova trigger.

I was taking some sounds off of it and using their triggers and then I found that little custom script right after the sound action...I don't see any unit groups declared in that trigger...so I was like, uhh, does that somehow have to do with the sound?

Weep

Reaction score
That's what I was thinking! Check it out - it's in the Maps/Frozen Throne/Scenario/ExtremeCandyWars2004 map...on the Frost Nova trigger.
You might also notice that the trigger leaks at least 27 points per cast. ;) Blizzard's maps aren't very good examples.

I don't see any unit groups declared in that trigger...
Well, immediately following that line of custom script is:
Trigger: