helpz with the guitar!

hell_knight

Playing WoW
Reaction score
I don't know if guitars are like this but.

I try to play a chord and if my fingers are on an exact position , like 1cm off , would get me really bad sound or none at all. Like if I was off by a little bit it would give me that staticy noise.

So I'm trying to play songs but I find it super difficult to change chords. It takes me way too long. Any help / suggestions :confused:

btw: Im really new to guitars.

MasterOfABCs

Unacceptable!
Reaction score
I've been playing for a tad over 6 months, I'm not great but I can help ya out with the basics.

First : Your problem is pretty normal, many of my friends have run into the same issue.

Second : Ask yourself "Is this chord change realistic?"

Example : Going from a "G" bar-form chord to an B minor chord is semi-impossible is some-most situations. Dumb it down, pick a new song.

However, If your trying to power-chord it up, as most people do, it simply requires repition and a bit of prior knowledge.

Third : Make sure your fingers are as close the corosponding fret as possible!

Example : E |------------|------------|------------| (Frets - 1, 2 and 3 on the "Low E" string.

To play fret 2 place your finger were I have placed the "0"

Example : E |------------|----------0-|------------|

This minimizes buzzing on most electric guitars! However, if you hear buzzing, move your finger back slightly! (Back = Closer to the first fret of the guitar!)

Fourth : If you can play the second fret E with out buzzing then great! (If not, tell me so I can clarify.) Now, apply this to the basic "power-chord" form. No, this will not be simple for many beginners, don't think you'll have it down in an hour. It takes practice.

Your fingers should be in the following position :

D |------------|----------0-|------------|
A |------------|----------0-|------------|
E |----------0-|------------|------------|