Need an Idea for Terrain

Mindless

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm making a warcraft chess kind of thing, but with upgraded units and abilities attached etc. However, I'm having trouble making the black and white squares interlaced thing, you know the classical chessboard. Do I do it using terrain? or put models of black and white squares alternating on the ground?

Or and other way to achieve this?

Any help would be appreciated.

death_knight

Dark is the heart of a corrupted man.
Reaction score
You could do it by changing the tileset to Dalaran and using the "Black Marble" and "White Marble" tiles to create the black and white squares.

Mindless

Reaction score
People! Please, more details! I'm new to terraining!

You could do it by changing the tileset to Dalaran and using the "Black Marble" and "White Marble" tiles to create the black and white squares.

I tried that, the effect wasn't really good though. Can do a small example for me? Thanks a lot.

Or you cloud make a custom tileset, thats easy.

How do I make a custom tileset? And actually, what is a custom tileset?

Inflicted

Currently inactive
Reaction score
Custom tilesets are tileset's that arent defaultly in the warcraft game, like everything else that is 'custom', it is user-made.

What is suggested is just black and white squares made using one of the model/terrain editing programmes and then just inserting it into your game.
I wouldn't suggest adding them as unit models as that could cause many problems like selection and health bars etc.

-Hate to dissapoint you but this type of game has been done.

death_knight

Dark is the heart of a corrupted man.
Reaction score
I tried that, the effect wasn't really good though. Can do a small example for me? Thanks a lot.

See the attached for my mock chess board.