Uploading site with FileZilla

Rheias

New Helper (I got over 2000 posts)
Reaction score
So, I'm new to the whole creating website kind of thing. I got a domain and a server (provided by GoDaddy). Now I understand in order to upload some content to my site I need to to use some kind of FTP software. FileZilla seemed good so I downloaded it. Now the tough part, using it.

I tried following this tutorial but I'm having a few problems. Firstly, how do I set the FTP settings? Also what exactly should I put in FTP User Name and FTP Password?

I think I understood the rest of the tutorial, but of course I couldn't know for sure until I actually test it, which requires the questions above to be answered.

Any help would be appreciated! :)

PurgeandFire

zxcvmkgdfg
Reaction score
Doesn't GoDaddy allow FTP access? Or must you add it with a FTP client?

For the FTP username and password, I suggest having something really random. Maybe save several copies of a notepad file on several computers of a random password. It doesn't matter too much, just don't make it to obvious. It is like an email password. Make sure no one can suspect it.

Rheias

Reaction score
It does provide one, however it seems somewhat limited when it comes to big files (or so they state).

Are you sure that the password and username can be completely random? Also, as I said, I have no idea how to actually set them. :rolleyes:

enouwee

Non ex transverso sed deorsum
Reaction score
The username and password are either provided by the hoster or you can define your own accounts through the control panel. Read the instructions you've been given when signing up.

Rheias

Reaction score
Well now it seems I can't even use the tool GoDaddy provides. Everytime I try to upload I get the messeges:

"Unable to upload one or more file(s)", "Software caused connection abort: socket write error".

konerboy

Run piggy Run!
Reaction score
Warning Make a backup of the files!!